ABC (Avocado+Banana+Coconut) Vegan Ice Cream

OK I have to admit I belong in Ice Cream Addicts Anonymous. I can seriously eat ice cream every day – snow or sunshine.  In an effort to limit all of the preservatives I consume with store bought ice cream, I decided to make my own unprocessed version.  Sorry Edy’s slow churned – I know you will be losing a lot of business.

What was the inspiration behind the ingredients? Simply, things I had around the apartment.  Here is a tip: buy a bunch of bananas, peel, and freeze.  I almost always have bananas at hand to throw into smoothies or other banana-related items.  As for the avocado, I watch a lot of Iron Chef America (best show ever) and they always seem to be putting things you wouldn’t expect in the ice cream maker. So why not avocado? let’s start adding some healthy fats to our ice cream!

Kitchen Gadgets: Here at the TeamZ Ponderosa, we seem to be collecting kitchen gadgets by the minute.  We may need to leave NYC because we will soon outgrow our kitchen.  I guess that is why we have space under the bed right?! So I made this recipe 2x once with an ice cream maker and once without.  It came out awesome even without the ice cream maker- I promise. I had it taste tested by cousin Andrew and BFF Atara (and of course the hubby- but he likes everything I make..or at least that’s what he’s contractually obligated to say).  Without the ice cream maker it has more of an ices texture, while the ice cream maker creates a more lasting creamy feel and appearance.

Ok enough talk. Here is the recipe.  As you can tell I am super passionate when it comes to my ice cream.

Ingredients:

  • 1 avocado- pit removed
  • 2 frozen bananas
  • 1 13.5 oz can of unsweetened coconut milk
  • 2 tbsp agave nectar
  • zest from 1 lemon
  • 2-3 tbsp lemon juice
  • chocolate chips

Instructions:

  • Place all ingredients in blender (except for chocolate chips)
  • Once blended transfer to ice cream maker and follow manufacturer instructions
  • Mix in chocolate chips
  • Transfer to air tight container and place in freezer

If you do not have an ice cream maker – after blending transfer to air tight container and place in freezer.  Remove from freezer about every 30-45 minutes and stir with spatula or whisk.  Keep checking and stirring periodically until frozen. The pictures were taken of the non-icecream maker version.

xoxo Ice Cream Addicts

13 thoughts on “ABC (Avocado+Banana+Coconut) Vegan Ice Cream

  1. hey lady! this is awesome. as an fyi, you can get more of an ice cream texture by using a hand blender instead of a whisk/spatula.

  2. This looks incredible! I have a bunch of bananas and avocados that I needed to find something to do with… I think I found it!

  3. Pingback: 20 of the Best Coconut Milk Ice Cream Recipes

Leave a Reply

