Squash It

Roasted Butternut Squash with Red Onion, Sage, and Goat Cheese

I have been in love with the flavors of butternut squash and sage melded together for years now. In my opinion this is one of the best fruit + herb combinations!

I would recommend that you buy fresh sage for this recipe. I promise you won’t regret it. Once you pop it in the oven with the squash the fresh aroma of the sage will get your appetite going.  Not to mention sage also has mucho health benefits- it is known to be an antiflammatory and antiseptic.

Ingredients:

– 1 butternut squash- pealed and diced

– 1/2 large red onion

– sage

– salt/pepper/spicy paprika

–  olive oil

– Goat cheese

Start by preheating the oven to 425.

Heat your pan (i love my cast iron) over a medium flame.  Add a little olive oil and then toss in 1/2 large sliced red onion. Saute until it softens and becomes slightly translucent.

On a roasting pan toss butternut squash with olive oil, salt, pepper, and spicy paprika (that’s the hungarian in me). In my house paprika is just as important as salt, pepper, and toilet paper.  I do advice that you buy the hungarian brand of paprika- the flavor is much more potent.  Wash and dry several leaves of sage and mix in. Add in the sautéed onions.

I have to admit- I cheat and buy the already pealed and pre-cut squash.  Please do not judge.

Roast for about 40 minutes-untill tender and lightly browned, tossing halfway through.

Transfer to a serving bowl and top with goat cheese crumbles.

And I am the worst wife ever because I gobbled it up before my husband got home and left the dirty dishes in the sink.  One day I will be better.

Eat, Enjoy, and Squash It.

10 thoughts on “Squash It

      • omg..my pictures suck! i keep trying to get on foodgawker but no luck 😦 i really want to take a photograohy class. I take all my pictures on the balcony in the daylight and my camera is a SONY DSC-R1

      • I am dying to take a photography class also! I went to a brief class on food photography which was helpful- but i feel like to get the right shots I need to invest in lighting ect which I am not ready to do. So I have been looking at foodgawker- does your picture need to get accepted?

Leave a Reply

